It’s Turtley Amazing!

It’s been 10 months and 13 days of leaving home and staying at Terengganu, 4 months and 14 days of working on an island. It is still unbelievable whenever I recall how my journey of turtle conservation started.

Just like the other child, I dreamt to become a scientist and I love science more than any subject. I chose science stream and studied biology, chemistry and physics during secondary school. I applied Biotechnology for my bachelor’s degree. And now, I am studying Master in Zoology and being part of sea turtle conservation. Everything was started with the same reason: I want to contribute to nature using the knowledge and skills that I have. Realizing humans are destroying the planet, joining in the conservation effort is how I can help to make the world a better place, for human and the wildlife.

After graduated with a Degree in Biotechnology, I patiently waited for the offer from EcoHealth Alliance (the company that I had my internship) as the project manager was keen to hire me as employee. Meanwhile, I sent my CV to all NGOs I know in Malaysia. Unfortunately, I wasn’t selected after the interview with EcoHealth Alliance and I received replies from the other NGOs like, “We are sorry that we are not hiring at the moment. We will notify you if there is any job opportunity.”.

Reality hits me really hard. Since then, I tried sending my CV to commercial testing laboratories and I was then hired as lab executive of a company manufacturing petroleum based product. I thought that my dream of working in conservation will never come true and probably it’s time for me to accept the fact. However, I clearly know that working in commercial testing laboratory is not a job I wanted because I know myself well enough. I do not want a 9-to-5 job with repeating daily work routine and a life frustrated by traffic jam before and after work.

IMG_20180818_092801

 

Life never fail to astonish me. After working for three weeks in the lab, I got a phone call from Dr. Uzair, who is the team leader of Sea Turtle Research Unit (SEATRU), which dramatically changed my life. After reviewing my CV that I attached in the previous job application, he decided to offer me an opportunity of pursuing a Master Degree in Zoology under SEATRU. The tuition fee will be fully funded by the research grant and I will be receiving allowance to support my living expenses. It was the open door to conservation, and also the turning point of my life. Without hesitation, I placed my resign letter.

So that’s how everything started. I left my beloved home, family, and friends and ventured into an entirely new life at Kuala Terengganu. Without any related background and limited knowledge about marine, I started with studying about biology of sea turtles. In the meantime, I am working for SEATRU as graduate research assistant. After six months, I was then appointed to initiate a new project (Public Viewing Laboratory) at Redang Island, where I started my island life as in-house turtle researcher at The Taaras Resort. Throughout the journey, I was exposed to on-ground conservation work and understand how conservation works in real life.

People asked me, “do you actually plan for this?” Not really. I’m not good at planning my life. But “follow your passion and own your life” is always what I insist. People have been telling me that taking finance or accounting courses offer me a higher salary, there are very less job opportunities for biotechnology graduate, working in conservation will never make you to become a millionaire etc. At the end of the day, I still choose to work for passion. It is not about getting rich, but working in conservation is a rewarding career that gives me the fulfillment that I want to have in life.

I’m here to share my story on how I started my journey in sea turtle conservation because I want to tell you that it is possible to work for passion and it is never too late to go after your dream. You might be struggling a lot along the way as it might be something new for you which it takes time to learn, there might be a lot of negative voices from the others that makes you doubt, people might tell you this is a bad idea etc. But, ask yourself a question, what do you really want in your life? I found mine and I wish you found yours too.

IMG_20180828_131949

 

It is never easy to work for something that you are keen for. Passion gives you the courage to start something, but persistence and determination are what drive you to move forward. Live everyday with a purpose, then you will be getting closer and closer to where you want to be. To the people and things that have made me who I am today, thank you so much and it was “turtley” amazing journey.

Screenshot_20180829-141659

Leave a comment